2019 Healing the Hurt Recipients

Rape and Abuse Crisis Center of Fargo-Moorhead Recognizes Recipients of the Healing the Hurt Award

Fargo, ND—March 13, 2019—Clay County Victim Services and Angela Bruer-Balouch are the recipients of the Rape and Abuse Crisis Center’s Healing the Hurt award. The award was established by the agency in 1983 to recognize one individual and one organization for their efforts toward ending violence and sexual assault, and positively impacting those victimized by personal violence.

Healing the Hurt Individual Award

Angela Bruer- Balouch

Pictured: RACC Support Services Coordinator Tina DeLaCruz, Angela Bruer-Balouch, RACC Program Director Myla Korbel 

Angela Bruer-Balouch has been a volunteer advocate at RACC for over two years, taking crisis calls after regular business hours on nights, weekends, and holidays. Last year, Angela was recognized by her employer, Ameriprise Financial, as one of their 2018 Community Impact Award winners due to her volunteerism. She paid forward the financial award to RACC. Bruer-Balouch states “I volunteer because I can; I love helping others. The callers need us.”

Healing the Hurt Organization Award

Clay County Victim Services

Pictured: Acting Clay County Attorney Pam Foss, Restorative Justice and Juvenile Victim/Witness Coordinator Amanda Hostad, Victim/Witness Program Director Michelle Olsonoski, Former Victim/ Witness Coordinator Lacy Johnson

Clay County Victim Services provides assistance to victims and witnesses involved in the criminal justice system. The team provides prompt and compassionate support to victims of domestic violence, stalking, sexual violence, and elder abuse cases. CCVS also makes referrals to RACC for victim advocacy and counseling services, making clear their passion for serving clients and getting them connected to resources in the community.